Vlog Review of The Simple Dude’s ebook “Grow Your Blog”

I promised him a vlog review, and here it is! Click through to check out The Simple Dude’s blog 🙂

First of all, SD I just wanna say it’s an honour interviewing you – you’re kind of my hero, and if I was a guy I would be you. As it is, I’m probably a better version of you.

Tell us a little about yourself?

 I’m an American dude in my late 30’s who lives with his Lady Friend.  No kids.. at least none I know about.
When and why did you begin writing?
I’ve been writing off and on much of my life, but mostly something I just enjoyed for myself.  I started my blog in August of 2010.
You started out as a Blogger, and you’re now very successful – has it gone to your head at all?
Not really. My ego has been overly inflated (for no logical reason) for many years!  If anything, the blogging thing has humbled me a bit because now I feel some pressure to live up to expectations.
What prompted you to write ‘How To Grow Your Blog’?
I found some easy, simple methods for growing blog followers and decided to share them with my fellow bloggers.  That and I just wanted another outlet to write smart ass commentary.
How did you feel about the publishing process?
I self published through Smashwords and Amazon and it was pretty easy once I got my formatting down.  I’m not the most adept guy at word processing, so it took a bit of effort to get my document formatted the right way to work on e-readers.  Next time I think I’ll hire someone!
 
Do you have a new project in the works?
I’m working a collection of short story comedy fiction.  So far I have written three stories I like, but want at least three or four more.  All of them will be written in my goofy, silly style.  The way I see it, if it makes me laugh I’m at least achieving something
What people would you say have influenced you and why?
From a fiction standpoint I like suspense and horror and have always loved Stephen King.  I’m kind of a sick-o that way.  But I also admire well written screenplays and love Cameron Crowe’s writing style.
Where and when do you do your best writing?
I’ve yet to really figure this out.  Different places work, depending on my mood.  What I do know is that I need to avoid distractions, but not ALL distractions.  Some writers say they like to be in a quiet room with no windows.  That doesn’t work for me.  I’ve found success at coffee shops where you have ccasional weird people-watching to distract you.  Also sitting outside on the patio is good with some natural distractions.  But the weather will be turning cold soon, which will rule that out.  I would love to find one perfect spot for writing that will always inspire creativity.  Any ideas?
Do you have any advice for other writers?
Just keep writing.  Sometimes I go a week or two without writing and end up getting pissed off at myself for wasted time.  I am not good about this myself, but the best advice is to set a weekly goal of time.  Five or six hours per week at a minimum, and just freakin’ write.  Don’t worry about quality or re-writing, that will come later.  Just freakin’ write.
What do you do in your spare time?
Typical dude stuff.  Watch sports, play golf, drink beer and Irish whiskey with my buddies and make fun of weird people.  Often times my buddies are the weird people I am making fun of.
If you could have a superpower what would it be?
I’d want the ability to poop out gold coins.  No… let me change that.  I’d want to be able to snap my fingers and have gold coins appear.  Yeah, that sounds much less painful.
What are your desert island essentials?
A bikini model who has a case of beer and a great big boat.
Favourite beverage?
Non-alcoholic: gotta be coffee.  I drink an absurd amount of it.  Alcohol: Jameson Irish Whiskey.  Makes me long for my homeland… wait, no, that doesn’t make sense, my ancestors were German.  But I do love Jameson.
If you could be anyone for a day, who would it be and why?
Yesterday I would have said an interview subject for ‘Timony Souler, but now that I have achieved that I’d have to say John Lennon during the Beatles first trip to the U.S.  I think I could get used to all those girls screaming for me.
Published by

timonysouler

"Tortured Little Artist", Blogger, Poet & Other Fashionable Things 'Timony Souler has been writing since she could string a coherent sentence together. It started out as an escape from reality, soon became a hobby and now takes up most of her brain activity. Her current works are "The Bronze Feather" which came to light after a desperate decision to take part in NaNoWriMo, and various pieces of 'poetry' and 'creative non fiction' - most of which are probably not so interesting, tbh. You can find her poetry, minifiction and other randomness on her blog: 'Toxic Musings' She also like drawing and pretending she can take photographs with artistic qualities. When she isn't writing you can find her annoying the Boyf, exploring Vienna and taking selfies, drinking various teas, collecting hats and admiring shiny things.

4 thoughts on “Vlog Review of The Simple Dude’s ebook “Grow Your Blog””

  1. An update… I have put my short fiction book on hold and am now working on a non-fiction comedy book about the pending Apocalypse. Because what could possibly be more funny than the end of the world??

    Thanks again for this… you’re my favorite Scot!

    SD

  2. TOO awesome! This is a great interview! I have to say that I am pretty sure I agree with your statement “if I was a guy I would be you. As it is, I’m probably a better version of you” My boyfriend says being a guy is best. For three or four days a month I have to agree.

Leave a Reply

